Univision’s 5th annual Premios Texas 2009 take place next Thursday, August 13, 2009, right here in the ATX.  In celebration and anticipation of the event popolio is hosting a ticket giveaway (read more about the show and the popolio giveaway here) as well as featuring nominated and/or performing Premios Texas Artist pop quizzes as a weekly countdown to the event EVERY WEDNESDAY.

Third up are latin hip hop it band and Austin’s own, Los Bad Apples, fresh off their songs, “Pobre Corazon” (listen below), being featured on the June 23rd episode of MTV’s Paris Hilton’s My New BFF and, “Luxury,” on yesterday’s season finale.  Representing for the group is lead vocalist Anita Benner.  Like VALLEJO, they are nominated for Best Austin Band. Good luck choosing between the two.  You can vote here.  Bet they are performing, too.  And, I gotta’ say Anita’s got some taste.  “It Takes Two” is one of my big time all-time favorite old school jams, too.

Week 1 VALLEJO pop quiz
Week 2 Bobby Pulido pop quiz
Week 4 Makano pop quiz

lbaName:  Anita Benner [Los Bad Apples Lead Vocals]
Genre:  Latin Hip Hop
Debut Release:  Los Bad Apples (Self-Released)
Release Date:  March 1, 2009

 This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? BOTH!
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)?? BOTH!
3. Studio or Stage? BOTH!
4. Spirituality or Hedonism? BOTH!
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? BOTH BOTH BOTH!!!

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my one addiction.
7. I’m musically inspired by other great artists/music/performers.
8. My favorite old school joint is It Takes Two” by Rob Base and DJ EZ-Rock.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Linguilady (just made that up) = my superpower would be to speak all languages.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Love, Laughter, and Passion

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  It brings me the same intense joy that I imagine a mother feels when she holds her newborn for the first time.  Of course, sometimes babies come out kinda’ scary-looking, but you love them equally knowing they’ll grow up to be beautiful!
12. I want my fans to:  Know how much I appreciate them. 
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:  In my fantasy world I’d have a theme song playing and a bunch of backup dancers following me everywhere I went…shamon!
14. Wild Card!  The secret to good songwriting is to stay up all night singing Michael Jackson tunes while b*boys break dance to the music.  I wrote the best song of my career the next morning!
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  Vini.  Vidi.  Vicci.

lba_coverListen to “Pobre Corazon” from Los Bad Apples’ self-titled debut.  Check out their official site for more.

Anita Benner’s favorite old school joint!