Single Reviews/2008 MTV VMAs Edition

♫♪

♫♫

♫♫♪

all over the place

carries a tune

part of the chorus

featured soloist

conducting the choir

 

Consider this the 2008 MTV VMAs Edition of Single and Listening.  I know it’s a little late in coming, but the songs are all still fresh as they were debuted as performances at this year’s MTV VMAs a few weeks ago on September 7, 2008.  Christina Aguilera and P!nk also performed, but their songs had debuted before the VMAs and I reviewed them in the last edition of Single and Listening.  This time around, I review the Jonas Brothers’, T.I.’s, and KanYe West’s latest offerings.

The Jonas Brothers “Love Bug” From Latest Release:  A Little Bit Longer Released:  August 12, 2008 ♫♪

My first introduction to the Jonas Brothers was all that blog, periodical, and TV fodder.  I had no idea who they were, where they came from, or that they were Disney product.  Now they’ve graduated to the big leagues with a number 1 album (Disney is becoming quite a musical force) and an MTV VMA 2008 performance.  I actually like this ditty.  Lyrically, it’s a nice sentiment.  I wonder if the parents who buy this stuff for their kids like to listen to it, too, or are really buying it for themselves.  I’m not a parent and I’m diggin’ it.  I like the slow start and hard pick-up.  That’s what I enjoyed about the MTV VMA performance as well.  The changes in setting and aesthetic for both parts (of song and performance) are a nice tribute to the past while embracing the present.  Original?  No.  But, it feels good to my ear.

T.I. featuring Rihanna “Live Your Live” From Latest Release:  Paper Trail  Released:  September 30, 2008 ♫♫

When I saw this performance I thought it was Rihanna featuring T.I.  Researching it now for this review, I find it’s actually the other way around.  Interesting tidbit.  Who knew Rihanna would be That (Next) Chick?  Anyway, the minute the performance started I loved it.  Re-listening to it now, still diggin’ it.  Party anthem!  The groove and “lift your hands up in the air from left to right” factors are through the roof.  Not sure how true the performance is to the album version, but even the short intro, sampling O-zone’s 2004 hit, “Dragostea Din Tei,” origin of the viral Numa Numa Dance video on the internet, is bananas.  The minute the crowd heard this song they went wild.  If I was in that crowd, I’d be getting my crowd participation on hard, too.

KanYe West “Love Lockdown” From Upcoming Release:  808s and Heartbreak ♫♪

Actors want to direct. Directors want to act.  Singers want to rap and rappers want to sing.  Another example, in a long line, of rappers trying their hand at talk-singing.  I must say that KanYe pulls it off. Simple melody and the chorus is a little too repetitive, yes, but it’s catchy and has a nice old school new wave sound to it, or just old school somethin’ sound. Seems that KanYe has been experimenting with an overall 80s affect of late.  He did get the prime spot of closing the show, which is not too shabby.  On a second listen, there does seem to be some lyrical meat.   Nice delivery and great sing-along quality.  Me likes.

