October is Scissors For Lefty Month at popolio pop quiz.  They’re a little known band out of San Francisco made up of members from two families.

If you haven’t heard of them, their song “Got Your Moments” was featured on Rob’s Party Mix, the digitally released soundtrack of the little known J.J. Abrams film, Cloverfield.

We’re featuring each of the SFL guys individually on a weekly basis. Second up is Bryan’s brother and bass player for the outfit, Steve.  Collectively, the Garza brothers have been very forthcoming with their pop quizes and we appreciate that.

Bryan Garza (vocals) pop quiz

October 10, 2008

Name:  Steve Garza [Scissors For Lefty Bass]
Genre:  Indie Rock
Latest Release:  Underhanded Romance (Eenie Meenie Records)
Release Date:  June 12, 2007

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Isn’t there a middle ground? J I can’t help but enjoy mainstream music but if someone turns me on to a show or lesser known band I could love it just the same.
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)??? Keep it real.  But, I’d love to keep it real and “sell out” every club. J
3. Studio or Stage? Stage by a landslide.
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? I’d consider myself a pretty spiritual person.  I don’t belong to any organization but I think they all make valid points.
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Come on that’s an easy one….  Making Sweet sweet Love.

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my Ice Cream
7. I’m musically inspired by life experiences.
8. My favorite old school joint is “Just A Friend” by Biz Markie.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Green Lantern.  Hot-Headed
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Bootie, Shaken, and Sexy Time.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I get lost in it and literally forget time.
12. I want my fans to:  Walk away from a show and say, “What the %*#@ was that?  I think I liked it.”
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be: Hi I’m Steve Garza and I’m a Sex Machine.
14. Wild Card! I think I could live off of Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  He’s an animal.  Roooaaaaarrr!

This week, enjoy a B-side from their single “Mama Your Boys Will Find A Home.”  Here’s “Inevitable Thieves.”

Also, check out Steve Garza’s favorite old school joint and the guys’ official site!

