October is Scissors For Lefty Month at popolio pop quiz.  They’re a little known band out of San Francisco made up of members from two families.

If you haven’t heard of them, they played San Francisco Gay Pride in June 2007.

We’re featuring each of the SFL guys individually on a weekly basis. This week Bryan’s and Steve’s uncle, Robby, is up.  He’s the guitar player for the band.  He’s a man of fewer words than his nephews, but is just as interesting.  We like variety.  Enjoy.

Bryan Garza (vocals) pop quiz
Steve Garza (bass) pop quiz

October 17, 2008

Name:  Robby Garza [Scissors For Lefty Guitar]
Genre:  Indie Rock
Forthcoming Release:  Scissors For Lefty EP
Release Date:  November 18, 2008 (iTunes)/October 24, 2008 (shows)

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Both!  Although, it’s always great to see an Underground band make the big-time.
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)??? Make the music you love.  Stay true to yourself and hopefully the money will start rolling in.  I want a house and new car someday.
3. Studio or Stage? I enjoy both.  Although you can’t have a show without great songs you love to play.  Performing on stage and seeing all those smiles can’t be topped.  Ever…
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? What ever gets you thru the night.
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Who’s makin’ the first move?

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my d
ream that came true.
7. I’m musically inspired by all things past, present & future.
8. My favorite old school joint is “Overpowered By Funk” by The Clash.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Super Rich.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Peace and All that.

Short Answer
11. I make music because: 
I truly love it.
12. I want my fans to: Buy all our merch, especially our old merch.
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be: Always take Twix over a Milky Way.
14. Wild Card! Man, I’m tired, hungry, and horny.
15. I want my musical legacy to be: 18 bastard children from countries nobody can pronounce.

Here’s a pre-release exclusive! Take a listen to “Consumption Junction.”

And, check out Robby’s favorite old school joint and some upcoming SFL shows below.

Robby Garza’s favorite old school joint!

Friday, 10/24/2008: CMJ Talking House Showcase Ace of Clubs Talking House Showcase, New York, New York.

Saturday, 11/01/2008: Rickshaw Stop San Francisco, CA with White Lies and Japanese Motors + Aaron Axelson, 8:30pm, $10 All Ages!

Saturday, 11/08/2008: The Knitting Factory, Los Angeles, CA with Voxhaul Broadcast, Killola and TBA, 8pm, $12 adv, $14 door, All Ages!

Friday, 11/21/2008: Doug Fir Lounge Portland, Oregon with Another Cynthia and Throwback Suburbia 8pm, $8.

Saturday, 11/23/2008: Tractor Tavern, Seattle, Washington with TBA, 8pm, $8 All Ages!

Thursday, 01/01/2009: Popscene, 330 Rich, San Francisco, CA with TBA

