Single and Listening

Single Reviews by Release Date

♫♪

♫♫

♫♫♪

all over the place

carries a tune

part of the chorus

featured soloist

conducting the choir

 So, I should have posted this last week.  It’s a little late in coming.  I was in Dallas to watch Janet and treat myself to a mini-vacay.  Much needed.  Loved D-Town.  What I saw of it.  Do you blame me?

Anyway, a few pop divas have released some singles in the last month or so and one of them has 2 singles going at the same time.  This time around we have Ciara, Christina Milian, Britney Spears, and Beyoncé.  I’m going to try to keep these short and sweet. 

Before going on, I just wanted to point out that there seems to be a super hero and office worker theme (in some cases the office worker is the alter ego) going on with some of our pop-tarts.  Christina Aguilera had a super hero-themed performance at the VMAs earlier this month (with featured business-attired Clark and Clarka Kents) and so does Ciara in the video for this single.  Both Ciara and Britney are rockin’ the sexy secretary look, too, in their videos.  I am observant, y’all.  Let the reviewing commence.

Ciara featuring T-Pain “Go Girl”  Released:  September 30, 2008
From Forthcoming Release:  Fantasy Ride ♫♪

Didn’t like it on the first listen.  After a few more – it’s hot.  Like the cadence.  Not as strong a kick-off to a new project as “Promise” was, but a club-thumper, nonetheless.

Christina Milian “Us Against The World” Released:  October 6, 2008
From Forthcoming Release:  ??? ♫♪

I want to hate this, but I don’t.  Don’t love it, either.  I’m torn on this one.  You know what it’s like? It’s like she was right there on the edge and could have pushed it through to greatness, but it didn’t quite happen that way.  Makes me want to sing along, but I feel like I need a more bumpin’ track in the background.  Needs a good dance club remix to reinvigorate it. 

Britney Spears “Womanizer”
Released:  October 7, 2008
From Forthcoming Release:  Circus

Sounds like “Toxic” Part 2.  Sure it’s catchy, but it’s boring.  Britney has yet to graduate to that next adult artist level.  “I’m A Slave 4 U” excited me about the prospect, but then came “I’m Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman.”  The speaking parts are hot, that I’ll give.  Still teeny-bopperish, though.

The next diva has 2 singles going at once.  Beyoncé  is kicking off a double-album with a debut single for each disc.

Beyoncé “Single Ladies (Put A Ring On it)” Released:  October 8, 2008

From Forthcoming Release:  I Am…Sasha Fierce  ♫♪

Sounds like one of ‘dem other songs from B’Day.  One in particular.  Repetitive and uninventive.  This is from the Sasha Fierce CD, which is supposed to be the adventurous side.  Not so adventurous.  A friend had to point it out to me, but, I have to admit, that under-groove is nice.

Beyoncé “If I Were A Boy” Released:  October 8, 2008
From Forthcoming Release:  I Am…Sasha Fierce ♫♫

Now this is the adventurous side, from the I Am CD, though it’s billed as the “more personal” side.  This is hot.  I have to give it to B for this one.   I’m really diggin’ on this.  The video made me like it even more.   Love the Obsession commercial intro.  The gender-twist is clever.  Not the execution you’d expect.  VMA-worthy.  You heard it here first.  Sometimes a simply pretty song is better than the ones with all the bells and whistles.

