I originally posted this on my MySpace Blog on October 19, 2006.  I didn’t have much to say, so I will say more here.  This is what I said then: 

“this is just a cool, old-school madonna performance video.  love the bruce lee-like gyration effect at the end.”

NOTE:  Seems like the Bruce Lee effect is just on the shorter version of the video.  Check the second video for the Bruce Lee gyration I speak of.

7. “Dress You Up” from Like a Virgin Released:  July 24, 1985

This is what I’m saying now:

This video shows Madonna at the beginning of her power, tempering her live performance chops and birthing her super-stardom.  Everyone remembers the Madonna-bes, the outrageous clothes, and the spectacle.  People forget the infectious R&B-tinged pop song and the great live performance.

This is just a great live performance video (from her debut Virgin Tour).  Let all the critics note that she is singing live in this clip.  Looks pretty live to me.  If you’ve read  MY [previous] TOP 10s you know that this is the video that introduced me to Madonna, that I fell in love instantly, and that I haven’t looked back since.  I was like 9 or 10.  The paisley jacket, dramatic make-up, and bright colors made an impression on me then and still do to this day.

This really contains all the elements, though in their early stages, that have made Madonna the memorable pop performer that she is.  She gives a little song and dance, a little fashion and style, and a lot of heart.

 

