I originally posted this on my MySpace Blog on October 23, 2006.  This is what I said then:

“another b&w video. one of my favorite madonna songs.  i used to sing it in my room to the top of my lungs.  my intention was that it was meant for my father to hear; that is, that i was singing the song to him and that, for me, it was about him.  i know he knew it was meant for him. my relationship with my father was tough during those adolescent years.  oh!  the drama.  for those keeping score, though, we get along a lot better now. 🙂

anyway, enjoy.”

5. “Oh Father” from Like a Prayer Released:  October 24, 1989

This is what I’m saying now:

You’ll notice a lot of MY TOP 10 selections are from Like a Prayer.  This was the first time Madonna was spiritual and introspective before Ray of Light.  A really nice collection of songs  — this one in particular obviously deals with her relationship with her father (and her mother’s death).

If you read above, you know this one is close to my heart.  I really did connect with the song because of my own tulmultous relationship with my own father during my adolescent years.  The emotion in her voice and lyrical content truly evoke a strained and challenging relationship with one’s father.

The video is a truly creative visual representation of the song.  Whoever thinks a pop video can’t be touching and emotionally thought-provoking (not shockingly so like some other Madonna work) hasn’t seen this.

