I originally posted this on my MySpace Blog on October 23, 2006. This is what I said then (seems I had a lot to say):

NOTE: I’ve rushed to post these last 3. Hopefully, I don’t miss my flight to Houston. It’s November 13, 2008, 1:47PM.  See how dedicated I am to this blog and to you all! Completed at : 2:02PM

Anyway, here’s the original commentary, followed by some new stuff.

“One of my most favorite Madonna songs.  The video was inspired by anime’ (Japanese animation/comics).  I think they painted over the actual film with the color blue (paint, I guess) after they shot it.  I guess Madonna is supposed to be a Japanese-anime-cartoon-girl.

It reminds of Janet’s ‘If’– I don’t think it’s LIKE it — it’s just interesting to see the thematic connection. That is, the perception that there is a connection between Asian people/culture and (advanced/progressive) technology.  I think there’s a simple yet advanced presentation of mise en scène, too, which i respond to.

FOR THOSE WHO DON’T KNOW!

from wikipedia.com:

The term stems from the theater where, in French, mise en scène means literally ‘putting into the scene’ or ‘setting in scene.’  When applied to the cinema, then, mise en scène refers to everything that appears before the camera and its arrangement .. sets, props, actors, costumes, and lighting.  Mise en scène also includes the positioning and movement of actors on the set, which is called blocking.

for more: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mise_en_sc%C3%A8ne

SO NOW YA’ KNOW!”

1. “Rain” from Erotica Released:  July 17, 1993

My favorite song from Erotica and one of my all-time favorite Madonna songs and videos.  All I’ll share is one story about this one.  I think I had it on Something to Remember, though it’s on Erotica, originally.  On tape!  My system at the time was dual cassette/record-player.  I think I still have the same system.  Shame!  I was in high school.

I was so pleased with myself when I discovered that the overlapped talking parts were recorded in mono.  One dialogue piece came out of one speaker while the other came out of the other.  It’s how I found out what she was saying for each bit.   The overlapping effect sounds cool, but is hard to understand what she’s saying.  Guess you can’t do that with CDs.  Or maybe you can.  Try to check it out.  See if it still works.  Let me know.

Anyway, I need to call a cab and get my butt to the airport.  I’ll be enjoying Madonna on the day you all read this.  This really is a beautiful song, she looks beautiful, and it’s one of her neater (yes, I said “neater”) videos.  Check it out!

Peace Out.  One Love.

