Single and Listening

Single Reviews by Release Date

♫♪

♫♫

♫♫♪

all over the place

carries a tune

part of the chorus

featured soloist

conducting the choir

So, it’s been a little while since I posted one of these.  I apologize for that.  I usually hear about new songs that have been released, but haven’t heard about that many new ones of late.  I know Rihanna has a new one with JT.   Because my partner in crime, J. Dub, made such a big deal about David Cook, I’m going to review his first single even though it’s been out for a minute.  Because I’m a Rent-Head, I’m going to review Idina Menzel’s latest.  Lastly, I’ll throw in Tracy Chapman’s latest, to give you four solid reviews.

David Cook “Light On”
Released:  September 30, 2008
From Latest Release:  David Cook ♫♪

The song doesn’t stand out, though he has a strong singing voice (I didn’t keep up with Idol).  Seems to me, he needs a track that allows him to make more of statement and let his presence be known.  Not bad, just not great.  I’d expect more from the reigning American Idol.

Rihanna “Rehab” featuring Justin Timberlake Released:  October 7, 2008
From Latest Release: Good Girl Gone Bad ♫♪

Not to be mistaken with Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab.”  Not bad on first listen.  I actually like it.  On an aside, who agrees that JT needs to stop doing songs with everybody and their grandmother?  Nice groove, though.  Good sing-along quality. I’d want to hear it again, so that’s good enough for me.

Tracy Chapman “Sing For You” Released:  October 31, 2008  
From Latest Release:  Our Bright Future ♫♫

This I do like.  I do have one of Tracy Chapman’s albums, Telling Stories, I’ll admit.  When it works, it just works.  There’s no accounting for taste, I guess.  Or there is accounting for mine.  I don’t know.  All I know is that I like this ditty.  I feel the grit of her voice and the vibrations of the guitar strings in my gut.  And my gut tells me, “It is good.”

Idina Menzel “Hope” Released:  November 10, 2008
For:  Major League Baseball (MLB) Stand Up To Cancer Campaign ♫♪

This is for charity, but I don’t want to give it a good review just because of that.  I’ll try to be objective.  The piano is pretty and so is her voice, but this doesn’t move me the way I think a charity single should.  Again, not bad, just not great.  Technically, the piano and her voice are well-wielded instruments, just needs a little of that human vulnerability to shine through.  I let it play through on her MySpace Page to the next song, “I Stand,” and I like that one much better.

Wow!  Just finished writing these reviews.  Am I too harsh?  I just don’t want to give everything 4 musical notes as not everything is above average.  And I wasn’t really feeling today’s songs.

Maybe I’m depressed because Thanksgiving is coming up.  Don’t stats show more people get depressed during the holidays?  And I think suicide rates go up, too.  No, I’m not suicidal.  I am lonely, though.  But, I digress, TMI!  Trust me, I know, and I’ll try to be better about it in the future.

