Thursday, November 27, 2008
8:16 AM

First and foremost, HAPPY TURKEY DAY!  Well, I want to try to get these out around the middle of the month, but this month has just been hectic.  I’ve been busy with my traveling, which is something I’ve mentioned before, on one of my posts this month.  I went to Dallas and Houston to see Janet Jackson and Madonna, respectively, for the first time.  Had some personal travel and work travel to do this month as well.  So, I haven’t been able to post as often and much as I would have liked to this month.

I want to devote this month’s letter to what I’m thankful for related to popolio since it is Thanksgiving Day and all.   I’ll do a MY TOP 10 things I’m thankful for.  How about that?  Before that, there are two items of business I want to discuss.

One — I’m getting a little flustered as we’re not getting much feedback in the way of comments.  I do enjoy working on this blog, but I want to know that we’re not doing it in a vacuum.  Hmm, I’m soliciting feedback on why we’re not getting feedback, so I don’t know if this is going to work too well.  But, I guess I want to know if people out there have ideas on a better way to communicate with us at popolio or if there’s something about the way our comments are set-up that is keeping folks from commenting. 

You do not have to “register” to post a comment.  I discussed this with J. Dub recently and we’ve made a change in the comment fields.  You do not have to write in your email address.  I believe that’s correct.  Let me say that, we are in the process of setting up an official popolio email address, which we haven’t had before (I know, shame on us).  Would you prefer to email comments to this address or to either of us directly?  Anyway, just some food for thought.

Secondly, I did want to highlight some of the items that did go up for November.  I counted down MY TOP 10 Madonna Videos, of course.  This was in commemoration of my attending her Hardy Candy stop in Houston.  J. Dub and I did have a final wrap-up about it and that will show up in the form of an R&R popolio podcast sometime next month.  We went back to 2 pop quizzes a month.  Earlier this month we featured Jennie Laws, a soulful Canadian songbird, and coming up is Nhojj, a jazz-infused soul-man out of New York.  I’ve reviewed some singles on my Single and Listening feature.  Tuesday Teases continue steadily.  Remember, they’re just snapshots of Tuesday Releases.  J. Dub and I did have a final thoughts R&R conversation on the Janet Show this month as well.  Please, feel free to check out all of our November offerings.

Now, MY TOP 10: things I’m thankful for regarding popolio.com:

10 – Our MP3s, audio streams, and videos.  I think we have a pretty entertaining selection of media for folks.  MP3s to download, featured artist music to listen to, and videos to watch.   
9 – Exposure to new artists and new types of music that I otherwise would not have been exposed to if I was not doing this blog.
8 – Learning new skills in relation to blogs and podcasts.  It’s a lot!  I’m still just at the tip of the iceberg.
7 – Getting to work on my interviewing skills.  I hope to interview artists in some kind of live format one day.  Fingers crossed.
6- Getting to write these Letters from the Editor once a month.  It’s nice to get my thoughts on virtual paper even if no one may be reading them. 😉
5 – Possibility and new horizons.  Who knows what can happen as we continue on this popolio ride?
4 – A reason to be creative.  It’s fun trying to come up with feature and content ideas.
3 – A forum to express myself in.  ‘Nuff said.
2 – Simply, the love and power of music.
1 – My creative partner, J. Dub.  It’s nice to have someone to work with and who has been instrumental in helping you achieve a goal and realize a vision.

Well, that’s all folks.  Enjoy your turkey or whatever it is you people consume on Thanksgiving Day.

9:17 AM

Sincerely,  
Freddie Rodriguez aka freddie beat
popolio editor

