10. Boy Meets Girl “Bring Down the Moon”

Boy Meets Girl was made up of George Merrill and Shannon Rubicam.  Prominent producers in the late 1980s, they created hits for the likes of Whitney Houston and Deniece Williams before releasing their own material.  I discovered them on Casy Casem’s Top 40 at the time.  Sounding like easy listening; makes me think easy listening gets a bad rap.  I bought the tape and, boy, did I play it out.  I still have it.  I just haven’t played it in years.  This makes me want to go back and revisit it.

“Bring Down The Moon” was actually the second and last single from their second full release, Reel Life.  The first was “Waiting For A Star To Fall,” their only top five hit.  They sounded very much in love on this record.  Married then, they divorced later, but continued to make music together.

Luscious and balanced male/female harmonies mixed with rich instrumental and synthesized sounds created sweet songs that flowed like honey and converged like chocolate, marshmallows, and graham crackers (otherwise known as s’mores).  Reel Life was a nice collection of romantic songs that showcased emotional depth and an interesting interplay between two well-contrasted vocalists.  A romantic story unfolded through melodic vignettes that could be played beginning to end. 

I’ll admit this has a pop sensibility.  What makes it different is the boy/girl thing and the easy listening/adult contemporary angle.  With only two singles from this album, it was hard for me to choose one.  I like “Bring Down The Moon” over “Waiting For A Star To Fall,” but you’ll get them both today.  Enjoy!

