8. Esthero “We R In Need Of A Musical ReVoLuTion”

A few years ago, I bought Esthero’s Wikked Lil’ Grrrls album.  Before that, I had heard the name and knew I had heard her songs somewhere, but I didn’t remember the names of the songs or the songs themselves.  Her presence became known to me prior to my picking up Wikked Lil’ Grrrls, when I purchased Left Eye’s import-only solo effort, Supernova, and she was one of the stand-out collaborators on it.

That underground, not quite urban, not quite alternative chick with sweet pipes, street cred for miles, and who was everyone’s choice for a collabo from the underground to the mainstream, made her presence known with this jazz-infused 2005 album.

Number 8 stood out as a refreshing and rebellious anti-pop pop anthem.  Check the Ashanti and Britney call-outs.  She speaks out against MTV and radio playing the same artists and music over and over.  She even took a stand on the R. Kelly controversy or so it seems to me.  The album is nice and the title track got good promotional mileage including being used for Sex and the City and Desperate Housewives promos.  

“We R In Need Of A Musical ReVoLuTion” is my favorite track on the album, but “Wikked Lil’ Grrrls” is really good, too, so I’ll continue the pattern I’ve established with this MY TOP 10 of 2 videos a day.  Enjoy!

Jimmy Kimmel Live performance of “Wikked Lil’ Grrrls.”

