7. Joan Osborne “St. Teresa”

I know I promised some menses and there will be some, but I just love my women folk.  I just can’t help it.  Sorry.  There are some men on this countdown, but like I said in the INTRODUCTION there are just going to be more women.

That said, the CD, Relish, with Number 7 on it was actually a Christmas gift from a co-worker when I was a work-study at UTEP way back in 1996.  I remember her mentioning that it was between this and Alanis Morissette’s Jagged Little Pill.  Something about getting the CDs mixed up between me and her niece or something like that. 

I’ll tell you, I’m glad I got this one.  I don’t have a problem with Alanis, but I like to be different.  Everyone was copping Alanis.  I wouldn’t have bought either on my own, so I’m glad I got exposed to something I otherwise would not have been.  I’m open.  Sometimes things just have to be handed to me.

This was definitely a more rock CD than I was used to listening to.  Really it has country, folk, and blues influences, too.  I like some feeling and/or soul to the voice, regardless of genre.  And I think Joan’s definitely got that.

“St. Teresa,” which opens the set, is probably my most favorite track on the CD, though I like a lot of the songs on Relish.  I did give it some wear-and-tear at the time.  I’m throwing in the one everyone knows, “One of Us,” which is another favorite of mine.  Enjoy!

“St. Teresa” —  Couldn’t find it any other way.

“One of Us”

