Single and Listening

Single Reviews by Release Date

♫♪

♫♫

♫♫♪

all over the place

carries a tune

part of the chorus

featured soloist

conducting the choir

I’m overdue for one of these.  I decided to review David Archuleta’s latest since I reviewed David Cook last time.  Wanted to throw in some men because I’m trying to be more conscious of that and more gender-balanced in my content here on popolio.  So, Musiq Soulchild gets the single review treatment, too.  I love TLC and Left Eye’s posthumous release is due next month, so I review her first single.  Lastly, Idina Menzel got me in a Broadway way last time, so I include Shoshana Bean’s first attempt at a pop/R&B single.

Shoshana Bean “Superhero” Released:  October 3, 2008
From Latest Release:  Superhero♫♪

Nice voice.  Not the best use of it.  The song was waiting to exhale but never got it out.  Coulda’,  shoulda’ hit the spot.  Just didn’t.  Want Shoshana to get her groove and exhale.

Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes featuring Missy Elliott & TLC “Let’s Just Do It” 
Released:  November 2008 From Forthcoming Release:  Eye Legacy ♫♪

Need to say that TLC is my favorite group of all-time, so I am partial.  That said, I didn’t like it on first listen.  It’s hard to update an old track and put a new collaborator on it especially when the artist has passed.  I’ve listened to it over and over and now I do like it.  With an infectious quality, the beat’s just different sounding. There’s something to be said for the right flow over the right beat.  Missy compliments the track nicely.  

Musiq Soulchild featuring Mary J. Blige “IfULeave”
Released:  November 25, 2008 From Latest Release:  OnMyRadio ♫♪

Good collabo.  I like the song.  Seems like a collabo between these two should have been through the roof, though.  I’m still just dancing in the living room.

David Archuleta “A Little Too Not Over You” Released:  January 6, 2009
From Latest Release:  David Archuleta♫♪

Catchy.  Not bad for the American Idol pre-, tween, and teen set.  Not sure it’s adult fare, but it doesn’t need to be.  He’s not one.  Shows promise for growth into adulthood.

