Single and Listening

Single Reviews by Release Date

♫♪

♫♫

♫♫♪

all over the place

carries a tune

part of the chorus

featured soloist

conducting the choir

 

Allergies have been kicking my butt for almost a month now.  So, these are going to be short and sweet.

B.o.B “I’ll Be In The Sky” Released:  Final Quarter 2008
From Forthcoming Release:  The Adventures of B.o.B ♫♪

The OutKast influence is obvious in the name and now in the song, too.  Let me do my Wiki-research.  Okay, no stated OutKast connection.  Wonder if he’s connected to that camp at all.  An adept handling of this flavor of hip hop.  Nicely done.  The sing-song chorus is on point.

Kelly Clarkson “My Life Would Suck Without You”
Released:  January 13, 2009 From Upcoming Release:  All I Ever Wanted ♫♪

The electric twang of the guitar lick (no pun intended) is catchy.  The masses are going to love it.  Me?  Not so much.  Okay, it’s alright.  Closer to capturing the magic of “Since U Been Gone,” but not quite there.  Can you ever go back?  Can she come back?  Sure.  Why not?  With this song, she’s on her way.

Kelly’s  is the only new song I heard about today (January 13, 2009).   I picked random stuff for the other  two reviews.  MySpace is my friend.

Morrissey “I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris” 
Released:  February 9, 2009 From Forthcoming Release:  Years of Refusal ♫♪

I wasn’t a big Morr-head back in the day.  Nor am I today.  I had friends, knew people who were into him.  Or his band, The Smiths, at the time.  This is a nice ditty.  I like it.  Not new territory, but definitely a nice ride reminiscent of familiar ground you look back fondly on and don’t mind looking on fondly today.

