le1010.  TLC “Ain’t 2 Proud 2 Beg”
From Ooooooohhh…On The TLC Tip
Released:  November 22, 1991

This song and video kicked off the TLC story and what has now become legend.  Left Eye was front-and-center letting the world know these 20-somethings (at the time) were spunky, funky, and not afraid to take healthy sexuality head-on.  The lyricism and presentation were sexy, but not raunchy (though some might disagree).

With the Cross Colours garb, doubled-up pants, suspenders, and hats they spawned imitators who often imitated, but never duplicated.  Tomboyish yet feminine, with the bright colors, they struck a chord with their natural chemistry, playful and over-the-top attitudes, and mostly with their hard-to-resist funky-sexy music.

I remember there was a nightly radio countdown in my hometown of El Paso, Texas.  The 9 at 9 on Power 102.  I was a high school freshman.  Once I had seen the video and I was hooked on TLC right off the bat, I listened to that countdown some days in a row to make sure “Ain’t 2 Proud 2 Beg” was Number 1.  And it was — a few times.  Here, it’s Number 10.  Check it out!

NOTE:  These lyrics were a little provocative and I was only a freshman, though I probably didn’t think so at the time.  Wow!  What we listen to as kids.  I will say, I think as an LGBT adolescent and a man (I don’t really want to label myself, but I will to make this point) there’s is something about sexually-assertive, sexually-positive straight female pop divas that is empowering, inspiring, and enlightening (ahem…Madonna, Janet, TLC for myself).  I mean, we do like the same thing and can’t always express our sexuality as easily or unrestrictedly as straight men can.  But, I’m sure I’m not the only one that feels that way.

