ll22. TLC “Waterfalls”
From CrazySexyCool
Released:  May 29, 1995

So, I said it had to be “No Scrubs” for Number 4, but really “Waterfalls” had to be the top TLC song of the countdown.  It is one of my favorites, but it’s so obvious that I would have chosen another, but I don’t think that would have been true to Left Eye’s memory.  This is the song the put TLC over the top and turned them from an R&B/hip-pop girl group to  a super-pop megastar girl group.

Ms. Lopes’ rap in this song is the one that she will most be remembered for.  It’s even engraved on her tombstone.  This video was one of the most expensive videos ever made and one of the few that actually visually interpreted the story/lyrics of the song.  Very cinematic, it won a ton of awards, and director F. Gary Gray went on to direct hit films such as Set It Off, The Negotiator, and The Italian Job.

I remember that each TLC album came out at a significant time in my life.  I was a freshman in high school when Ooooooohhh…On The TLC Tip was released.  CrazySexyCool marked my senior year of high school.  I was about to graduate college with my Bachelors when FanMail came out.  (3D not so much, but I don’t really count that one because Lisa had already passed.  Don’t get me wrong, I like a lot of it, but that release became a different kind of thing just because of how things happened to go down.)

