So, the second act of The Executive Life show was special guest, Arthur Yoria.  Actually, Jeder got to play a little longer as we awaited his arrival.   And we, in the audience, didn’t mind as we were enjoying her sweet melodies.  

I saw him make his entrance and didn’t realize who he was.  Don’t get me wrong he made his presence known with his shaved head and clean-shaven face and what seemed to be a maroon vinyl trench jacket.  I definitely noticed him and I dug his coat.  I just didn’t know that he was THE Arthur Yoria. 

I knew of him because co-editor JW Richard had posted about him before.  But, he looked different than the pic J. Dub used on that post.  And, yes, J. Dub was doing his R&B thing back in the day in Houston as part of a duo known as Tru Sol and, apparently, shared some stages with Arthur.  You can check out Tru Sol’s stuff and, perhaps, buy thier CD here.  Not sure we have any popolio completists out there…yet…but, there you go. 😉

Anyway, I liked Arthur’s set, too.  I didn’t know he did the audio thing.  Not sure how to explain it.  You kind of have to see it.  It’s like pre-recording in the moment and playing it back and then intertwining live performance with the recorded vocals and/or sounds.  Interacting with yourself.  The host asked us if we’d ever seen something like that.  Jeder said she had.  I hadn’t.  Still, Arthur was doing his thing.  Jeder gave him props, too.

Kind of hard to pin down a genre for Arthur Yoria.  I’m not sure what I would call what he did and sounded like.  I can say I liked what I saw and heard.  His MySpace Page  describes him as Ghettotech/Southern Rock/Melodramatic Popular Song.  Check out his Official Site, too, while you’re at it.

ay11

Sound Check.

ay2

The show goes on.

ay3

Doin' his techno-daddy thing!

ay4

Anotha' one!

ay5

Using La Jeder's acoustic guitar; he couldn't find his.

ay6

Exit Close-Up (as the photographer please forgive me the red eye).

