saschaWell, here we have a pop quiz from one of my personal faves.  Hailing from Berlin, Germany, today’s quiz is from the lead vocalist and songwriter, Sascha Gottschalk, of the band, Thief.  Their 2007 debut CD, Sunchild, on Sonar Kollectiv remains a high favorite and along with their new song on the Jazzanova CD, they’re working on new material for this year.  Before learning about the band Thief, I was a Sascha Gottschalk fan because every single he performed with label mate, Clara Hill, was worth hearing and owning.  Enjoy meeting Sascha!

February 20, 2009

Name:  Sascha Gottschalk [of the band, Thief]
Genre:  Indie/Jazz/Pop
Latest Release:  Sunchild (Sonar Kollectiv)
Release Date:  March 2007

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? None of these.  If you pay too much attention to any of it, they will both limit the artist’s integrity.
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)???  Which money?  Where is it?  Can I have it?
3. Studio or Stage? Both.
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? I’m quite balanced at the moment.
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Do more sports.

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my Life.  Simple as that.
7. I’m musically inspired by everything.   I’m like a vampire or a sponge, sucking everything in.
8. My favorite old school joint is anything by Depeche Mode.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Captain Future.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to It doesn’t exist for me anymore anyway.  Trying to recreate this style today is like walking around in King Louis the 14th clothing.  If you watch a bio on The Who (e.g. go and buy Amazing Journey DVD; sorry Ad), you’ll just have to laugh at most of the new guitar bands, they just seem like clowns to me.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I have to.  I’m just a catalyst for some energy which is being transferred.
12. I want my fans to:  trust us and take their time with our music.
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:  The belief in music and especially albums as an art form which should again more be treated as art.
14. Wild Card!  Go and buy more vinyl records.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  huge.

Thief - SunchildEnjoy the track, “Atlantic,” from the disc, Sunchild.

Sascha Gottschalk’s favorite old school joint!

