Sunday, February 22, 2009 
6:52 PM

To Whom It May Concern:

Well, it’s February 2009 and I’m about six months into this thing I christened popolio.  I will say I enjoy writing, but it is challenging keeping the content up.  The most challenging for me is trying to forge relationships with artists to have worthwhile content to offer.  I think I’m passionate about this project, but I don’t like the feeling that I may be operating in a vacuum.  WordPress keeps statistics, so I know people are hitting the blog daily, but I suppose I crave more interaction from you nameless web-surfers out there in the great cyber abyss known as the Internet.

I guess next to trying to build my network at the same time that I’m running things my next greatest challenge is keeping up the passion for and dedication to the site.  It is a lot of work for a passion project, but I guess that comes with the territory.

In this time of the month that brings us Valentine’s Day, I guess I have to love myself and popolio enough to keep it going and just hope that my labor will bear fruit in the not too distant future.  Speaking of Valentine’s Day, I hope everyone spent it will.

Anyway, what did February 2009 bring at popolio?  The popolio pop quizzes continued with featured artists Clay Pendergrass and Sascha Gottschalk of the band, Thief.  Clay Pendergrass has a multitude of musical projects going on out of Dallas.  He may very well be the hardest working music man in Dallas.  And he created a collage to answer his pop quiz.  A first here at popolio.  Check out his answers in the form of this very creative response.  Now, the Thief pop quiz is our second international pop quiz with the band hailing from Germany.  Jennie Laws based in Canada was our first international pop quiz artist.  Thief is a favorite of Co-Editor JW Richard’s and the rest of the band is made up of two Jazzanova members, which is a band he included on his MY TOP 10:  Hot Tracks of 2008 last month.  Be sure to check both of those pop quizzes out and that MY TOP 10 Countdown.

MY TOP 10 this month in tribute to Valentine’s Day was Sexiest Videos.  I kept it 1990s/2000s and pop/hip hop/R&B.  I recently introduced two new features which I hope to keep going.  Last month I debuted show pic-olio, which is self-explanatory.  As I get out to more shows I’ll take pictures and post them.  The write-ups may vary, but there will definitely be pics.  Just this weekend I presented Just Picked Up.  I thought it might be fun to post the new music purchases I make as I make them.  And I still purchase CDs, so I thought it might be interesting to provide a closer peak into my personal musical taste.

JW kept up with an older feature that has only had a few postings — Play it Forward.  He played forward the album Baby Disco by artist, Dave Bianchi.  He provided the MP3, “People Are Strange” from that project as the teaser.  Be sure to go download that.  And, yes, it’s FREE and you do get the whole song!  I also reviewed songs by Lily Allen, India.Arie, and Electrik Red in our Single and Listening feature.

And, there’s still one week left in February, so there will be plenty of content to close the month out.

Thanks for reading.

7:30PM

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                        Freddie Rodriguez aka freddie beat
popolio editor

