soceAs one of the most unique MCs in the film, Pick Up The Mic, Soce (prounounced “soh-say”), The Elemental Wizard brings hip hop that’s unabashedly nerdy and can be unabashedly sexual as well.  It’s an honesty that would almost hurt if it weren’t so intentionally funny.  Enjoy!

March 6, 2009

Name:  Soce, The Elemental Wizard
Genre:  Hip Hop/Rap/Pop
Forthcoming Release: Master of Fine Arts (Relevant Material Publishing ASCAP)
Release Date:  June 3, 2009

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Mainstream
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)??? I don’t need to make a lot of money… Just enough to live on.  I might as well have fun and feel good about myself.
3. Studio or Stage? Stage, until I need to start writing new tracks, and then studio.  I do at least 2 live shows each week, and then I try to squeeze in studio time when I’m not performing or socializing.
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? Spirituality, although hedonism is much easier.
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Make Love, Absolutely

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my passion, and a great way to express myself and work through some problems.
7. I’m musically inspired by Ratatat, Eminem, TI, QN5, Tori Fixx, Aaron Carl, and Scream Club.
8. My favorite old school joint is “Passin’ Me By” by The Pharcyde.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be able to fly around and protect all nerds with my strength and coolness.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Smiles, Happiness, and Love.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I have all of these notes bouncing around in my head and I have to set them free.  I hope that what ends up coming out of your speakers is as good as how it began in my brain.   Also, I get to meet lots of cool people and do fun things!

12. I want my fans to: Believe in themselves.  We all have a story to tell.  Go out there and spread the word to the whole world!!  Each person has such amazing talents.  Some people have not discovered their true purpose yet.  Keep at it and you will!

13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:   I am great at striking up a conversation by asking open-ended questions, yet despite my busy social schedule, I am also an introvert who needs to spend lots of time alone.

14. Wild Card!  In addition to walking the walk, I really enjoy talking the talk.  Some of the best moments to talk shop are at video shoots, performer parties, and way before or after a show.  I like to see what other performers are up to.

15. I want my musical legacy to be:  Someone who made people smile and dance with catchy melodies that they just can’t stop singing as well as intelligent lyrics that demand additional listenings to figure out.  Hopefully my music will inspire people to create their own artwork!

Here’s a taste of Soce, The Elemental Wizard on rap and all vocal parts with the track, “Moving On,” from the Homo Revolution Tour 2007 Compilation CD.

hr07

 

 

 

mofa

 

The upcoming project!  Check out his MySpace Page for more.

Soce, The Elemental Wizard’s favorite old school joint!

 

