I’m a day late.  I should have started this countdown yesterday.  So, you get 2 videos for the price of 1 today! YAY!

* * *

I thought it would be fun to countdown MY TOP 10:   Music Video Cameos.  That is, music videos with cameos by non-musical personalities who are known for working in other areas of show biz.  My criteria were that:

1) the video be memorable, of course;
2) the featured personality not be another musical artist at the time (now if they became musical artists at a later point that’s another story; they’re
still eligible);
3) the featured personality be known at the time (not be an unknown who became known later); and
4) the cameo be a worthwhile part in the video (not just a 2-second spot).

10. Gabrielle Union in Busta Rhymes’ “I Love My Chick” featuring Kelis and will.i.am

The original title and lyric is “I Love MY B!#@%.”  On a personal level, I don’t agree with the use of negatives as positives and the whole reclaiming words philosophy.  I think words have power and that you have to take responsibility for what you put into the universe.  I also think others  use it as an excuse to take it as permission to use the words as they see fit and that often is negatively.  On another level, though, what 2 consenting adults want to call each other is between them.

That said, it is a hot song and video.  Busta and Gabrielle recreate Brad Pitt’s and Angelina Jolie’s roles in Mr. and Mrs. Smith.  Now, it isn’t that recreating films in music video form is a new concept, but this one was done well in a clever and timely fashion.  Eminem, will.i.am, and Dr. Dre also guest in the clip.  Now, as to why Kelis, who’s voice is actually on the record, isn’t acting beside Busta is a whole ‘nother question.  Maybe Nas wasn’t having it. 

