So, this concludes this countdown.  Hope you enjoyed the ride.

* * *
I thought it would be fun to countdown MY TOP 10:   Music Video Cameos.  That is, music videos with cameos by non-musical personalities who are known for working in other areas of show biz.  My criteria were that:

1) the video be memorable, of course;
2) the featured personality not be another musical artist at the time (now if they became musical artists at a later point that’s another story; they’re
still eligible);
3) the featured personality be known at the time (not be an unknown who became known later); and
4) the cameo be a worthwhile part in the video (not just a 2-second spot).

1. Chevy Chase in Paul Simon’s “You Can Call Me Al”

I love, love, love this video.  I was like 10 when it came out, but it left an impression. Simple idea; executed really well.  Great song, too.  Can’t say I know much about Paul Simon or Chevy Chase.  (Yeah, I know he was on SNL and in those vacation movies.)  But, this song and video made a mark.  I’m thinking I may go back to the CD this song was on and explore his stuff.  Well, I’ve said a lot throughout the countdown, so just sit back and enjoy Number 1.  And, yes, it’s funny.  That goes without saying.

