vitera

We’ve featured local Latin rocker VITERA (né Haydn Vitera) a couple of times here at popolio.  I reviewed one of his acoustic sets at the Austin version of the Santana chain Maria Maria Restaurant here and featured him in a show pic-olio, too, here.  Now, the debut album is about to drop and you can get a little glimpse into this performer’s mind before checking out his new CD.

April 10, 2009

Name:   VITERA
Genre:   Latin Rock Alternativo
Latest Release:  Debut CD Spring 2009
(Self-Released)
Release Date:   Spring 2009

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Somewhere in between

2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)??? BOTH.  I look at artists such as (in no particular order) Tom Petty, Lenny Kravitz, Dave Matthews, John Mayer, Charlie Daniels, Asleep at the Wheel, Led Zeppelin, Juanes….the list goes on and on.  It IS possible to rake it in and not be a cheeseball!!!

3. Studio or Stage? Stage for sure….but I love watching a tune come together in the studio…especially when you collaborate and everyone puts in a piece of their own musical soul.

4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? I must say I’ve been living on the side of the latter lately…jajaja!

5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Depends on the girl…and how many cocktails we’ve had 😉

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my reason to get up in the morning….late morning…ok ok early afternoon sometimes.
7. I’m musically inspired by all things ROCK!!! (beautiful women included).
8. My favorite old school joint is “Still of the Night” by Whitesnake.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Batman…because Bruce Wayne knows how to roll!!!
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to CHANGE????

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I’d die if I didn’t…seriously…physically stop living.
12. I want my fans to:  Leave the show inspired…and sweaty!
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:  I’m still a little kid on the inside.
14. Wild Card!  How much longer is this quiz!!!…JK Freddie..luv ya man!
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  VITERA:  rocked in Spanish, rocked in English, brought people together….6-string ROCK VIOLIN in hand!!!

Enjoy “Que Ciega” and let it tide you over until the debut release hits.  Even I wasn’t privy to an album cover image or album title for this pop quiz.  So, we’ll be finding out together.  Until then, check out his MySpace Page for more 411.

VITERA’s favorite old school joint!

