Monday, April 20, 2009 9:15 PM

To Whom It May Concern:

Well, it’s that time again.  Boy, do the days go by fast.  I think I’m going to try to keep it short and sweet this month.  What’s been nice about April has been that I’ve been doing this long enough now that we can re-feature artists we’ve featured before.  It’s a nice feeling to go back to someone you’ve already featured and feature them in a different way.  Don’t get me wrong, I always want to bring artists we haven’t covered before to you, too.  So, don’t worry about that.  I’ll keep trying to provide a nice mix.

Once they’ve been featured a few times I kind of consider them popolio artists.  I don’t want to tell them that, though, because I don’t want them to think they owe us something or vice-versa.  What it really is is that I’m just happy to have them be part of the blog and excited to have them come back. 

Some of April’s familiar faces are VITERA (April 2009’s already-posted first pop quiz), Wayna (a popolio podcast — look for it in two days!), and The Executive Life (this Friday’s pop quiz).  VITERA and The Executive Life are local artists.  Featuring local talent always feels good in a little bit of a different way.  It’s like a fizzle in your tummy or a buzz in your cortex.  Something like that.  Or not.  Can’t explain it.  It’s just a little extra special.

Anyway, enjoy the rest of April and I’d like to pose a challenge to all of you this month.   I want you to listen to one artist that you otherwise would not have ever listened to.  Burst your genre-bubble!  Comment on here or email me and let me know who the artist was, what CD you listened to, and what you thought about it.

9:28 PM

peace, love, and all that jazz
Freddie Rodriguez aka freddie beat 
popolio creator/editor

