For those who don’t know, I was a film major.  It was my dream to direct music videos.  I wasn’t even interested in feature films.  I thought I’d be happy doing just music videos.   Don’t get me wrong.  I love film and music.  With this countdown I combine both loves.

This MY TOP 10 features songs that either equaled or transcended the pop cultural significance of the films from whence they came.  It’s less about the movies and more about the songs.  I’m including 5 male and 5 female performers and alternating between them to keep things fair and balanced.  I’m starting off with a woman so a man can be on top. 

Just flipping the script from how I ran thangs with February’s MY TOP 10 (Sexiest Videos for those of you who don’t know) where a woman lead the pack.

* * *
mmbt10. Tina Turner “We Don’t Need Another Hero (Thunderdome)” from Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome

Tina Turner brought the regal, the fierce, and the tough with this character and song from the 1985 film.  Lookin’ like the street-sexy Storm of the X-Men, the song  serves as revolutionary call-out set against the backdrop of a dystopian post-apocalyptic world.  Arguably Turner’s most ambitious video (perhaps she was inspired by the fact that she was in the film), it’s a standout among her many hits garnering a Golden Globe and Grammy nomination along the way.

Editor’s Note:  Check the typo in the film’s title on the opening credits.

