For those who don’t know, I was a film major.  It was my dream to direct music videos.  I wasn’t even interested in feature films.  I thought I’d be happy doing just music videos.   Don’t get me wrong.  I love film and music.  With this countdown I combine both loves.

This MY TOP 10 features songs that either equaled or transcended the pop cultural significance of the films from whence they came.  It’s less about the movies and more about the songs.  I’m including 5 male and 5 female performers and alternating between them to keep things fair and balanced.  I’m starting off with a woman so a man can be on top. 

Just flipping the script from how I ran thangs with February’s MY TOP 10 (Sexiest Videos for those of you who don’t know) where a woman lead the pack.

* * *
bandj7. The Proclaimers “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” from Benny & Joon 

This is an example of what happens when a song that was previously released gets placed in the right movie at the right time and is re-released.  It gains greater US exposure and becomes a massive hit.  Great ditty from a film that has a bit of a following and stars Johnny Depp.   Not too shabby.

