For those who don’t know, I was a film major.  It was my dream to direct music videos.  I wasn’t even interested in feature films.  I thought I’d be happy doing just music videos.   Don’t get me wrong.  I love film and music.  With this countdown I combine both loves.

This MY TOP 10 features songs that either equaled or transcended the pop cultural significance of the films from whence they came.  It’s less about the movies and more about the songs.  I’m including 5 male and 5 female performers and alternating between them to keep things fair and balanced.  I’m starting off with a woman so a man can be on top. 

Just flipping the script from how I ran thangs with February’s MY TOP 10 (Sexiest Videos for those of you who don’t know) where a woman lead the pack.

* * *
phil5. Bruce Springsteen “Streets of Philadelphia” from Philadelphia 

Okay, so I say above that this countdown is more about the music than the movies.  Well, in the cases of Number 6, yesterday’s Number 5, and forthcoming Number 1, it’s hard to separate the message of the movie from the message of the music.  The power of these songs is the power of the films.  Sometimes things get intertwined and messy like that.  This song affects me on a deeply personal level.  Not to say that I’ve personally known anyone affected by HIV or AIDS, but the affect on the LGBT population is what I relate to.  It’s one of those songs that is bitterly sweet and tragically beautiful.

jm***BONUS*** Bruce Springsteen “Secret Garden” from Jerry Maguire

Another great Bruce Springsteen movie song.  This one wasn’t originated for the film like “Streets of Philadelphia” was, but it was used to great effect, regardless.  The version I was looking for is the one they played on the radio that mixed in dialogue from the movie, but I couldn’t find a video version of that.  Anyway, enjoy!

