For those who don’t know, I was a film major.  It was my dream to direct music videos.  I wasn’t even interested in feature films.  I thought I’d be happy doing just music videos.   Don’t get me wrong.  I love film and music.  With this countdown I combine both loves.

This MY TOP 10 features songs that either equaled or transcended the pop cultural significance of the films from whence they came.  It’s less about the movies and more about the songs.  I’m including 5 male and 5 female performers and alternating between them to keep things fair and balanced.  I’m starting off with a woman so a man can be on top. 

Just flipping the script from how I ran thangs with February’s MY TOP 10 (Sexiest Videos for those of you who don’t know) where a woman lead the pack.

* * *
pr3. Prince  “When Doves Cry” from Purple Rain

I was torn between the title track and this one, but then I snapped out of it.  Of course this is the better song and it was the bigger hit.  But, you’ll get “Purple Rain” as the BONUS on the other side of this post.  Prince needs no introduction nor does the Purple Rain Soundtrack.  This is a strange soundtrack because when I think back on it I think more about the music and the album as opposed to the movie.  It’s almost as if the film was supplemental to the record and not vice-versa.  The movie should be called Purple Rain The Original Soundtrack Motion Picture.

 

***BONUS*** Prince  “Purple Rain” from Purple Rain

Had to give you “Purple Rain,” too.

