I’ve been wanting to do a countdown featuring songs about songs (you know, songs about music, dancing, and/or a certain genre).  I have my 10 songs, but even as I post Number 10, I’m not sure about the order.  So, this one will form as I go.  I normally have my list ready to go before I start.  MY TOP 10 is a music video countdown, but with some songs (maybe one in particular) occuring before the MTV era, I will  have to improvise and pull something from Dailymotion or YouTube.  Here goes.

10. Cameo “Word Up!”

Cameo was that eccentric group that had the electro-funk thing going on.  “Word Up!” is their infectious signature song that gets your @$$ on the dance floor like it’s supposed to. With new wave synthesizers, jazzy flourishes, and funk all up in your face, it’s hard to forget.  It imprints on your dancing bones’ memory and stays there until the next time you hear it and you’re involuntarily moving your body once again.  Do your dance, indeed.

