I’ve been wanting to do a countdown featuring songs about songs (you know, songs about music, dancing, and/or a certain genre).  I have my 10 songs, but even as I posted Number 10, I wasn’t sure about the order.  So, this one will form as I go.  I normally have my list ready to go before I start.  MY TOP 10 is a music video countdown, but with some songs (maybe one two in  particular) occuring before the MTV era, I will  have to improvise and pull something from Dailymotion or YouTube.  Here goes.

7. Sonny & Cher “The Beat Goes On”

Sonny Bono’s headstone simply states “AND THE BEAT GOES ON,” the lyric he wrote for this song.  Goes to show the power of this song, its timelessness, and how it’s synonymous with Sonny & Cher.  It works because “the beat” is a metaphor for the cycle of life.  And, that works during any era.  The sound is at the same time classic and modern because though it’s classic ’60s pop,  it could be a new song today, too.  Britney Spears covered it for her debut, …Baby One More Time, in 1999.

