MB                                                                  

 As a mini-countdown to the ¡Pachanga! Latino Music Festival THIS SATURDAY popolio is featuring 3 ¡Pachanga! Artists in  pop quizzes today through Friday.

* * *
First up is, local favorite band, Maneja Beto.  Running the gamut from the romantic to the political, they create rock- and pop-tinged Latin/Mexican music  that they’ve branded “Indie en Español.”  Repping for the band tonight is Bobby Garza.   They play the Yerba Stage (at Fiesta Gardens) at 6PM.  Check the ¡Pachanga! Fest site here for more 411.

May 27, 2009

Name:   Bobby Garza [Maneja Beto percussion/keys/voz/loops]
Genre:   Indie en Español
Latest Release:  Maneja Beto untitled EP (Self-Released)
Release Date:   April 2008

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Underground
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)??? Is this, like, make-believe or one of those “Choose Your Own Destiny” books?  I’ve chosen to go left.  What does that mean?  Hold, please while I turn to page 47. 
3. Studio or Stage? Studio
4. Spirituality or Hedonism? Spiritual Hedonism
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Spiritual Hedonism

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my Yes, it is.
7. I’m musically inspired by It’s never one thing or the same thing…
8. My favorite old school joint is “Monk’s Mood” by Thelonious Monk.   That’s what it is lately, but it’s never the same.  It could anything from Sly to BBD to Serge Gainsbourg or Los Angeles Negros or the Ozark Mountain Daredevils, for that matter. 
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Are there fat super heroes?
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Lone Star, Lone Star, and I’m sorry.  What was the question?

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  It’s not really a question of why.  It’s how and to what extent.
12. I want my fans to:  Fans?  Awesome.
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:  Besides my name?  That seems pretty important.
14. Wild Card!  Capybaras are fascinating and I’m told they’re also tasty.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  That the music I make matters to people.

MBEPListen to “Campanera” from Maneja Beto’s latest untitled EP.  Find out more at their MySpace Page.

Bobby Garza’s favorite old school joint!

