I’ve been wanting to do a countdown featuring songs about songs (you know, songs about music, dancing, and/or a certain genre).  I have my 10 songs, but even as I posted Number 10, I wasn’t sure about the order.  So, this one will form as I go.  I normally have my list ready to go before I start.  MY TOP 10 is a music video countdown, but with some songs (maybe two in  particular) occuring before the MTV era, I will  have to improvise and pull something from Dailymotion or YouTube.  Here goes.

5. Common “I Used to Love H.E.R.”

The quintessential ode to hip hop.  Common broke it down no holds barred professing his affection for hip hop as a woman as well as his dissapointments with her.  Weaving an instant classic, he takes you through the different eras of the genre balancing his roles as narrator and commentator.  He highlights what he sees as  its glorious aspects and denotes its downfalls.  His skillful flow and a killer beat take it to the next level.

We’re starting the second half of the countdown, so I wanted to throw in a BONUS.

***BONUS*** Rihanna “Don’t Stop the Music”

I don’t think this has been around long enough to be part of this all-time TOP 10 list, but it’s almost there.  It’s an infectious song with a clever  interpolation of the famous Michael Jackson chant from “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’.”  Definitely, a dance floor buster.

