And, finally, Number 1.

* * *
I’ve been wanting to do a countdown featuring songs about songs (you know, songs about music, dancing, and/or a certain genre).  I have my 10 songs, but even as I posted Number 10, I wasn’t sure about the order.  So, this one will form as I go.  I normally have my list ready to go before I start.  MY TOP 10 is a music video countdown, but with some songs (maybe two in  particular) occuring before the MTV era, I will  have to improvise and pull something from Dailymotion or YouTube.  Here goes.

1. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts “I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll”

Joan Jett cemented her place in music history with this cover of  The Arrows’  1975 original; she could have done nothing before with The Runaways and nothing since with The Blackhearts.  As the first single of her first solo album, it jump-started her career.  Probably the greatest ode to any musical genre, you could replace “rock ‘n’ roll” with any other and it would still resonate as strongly.  The sentiment is translatable and universal.  You get the color version as a BONUS.

***BONUS*** Joan Jett & The Blackhearts “I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll” (color version)

