So, this countdown is about MY TOP 10:  Fictional Bands and what songs best represent those bands.  I’m going to throw in about 5 BONUSES throughout this countdown as well.  It’s a fun one in a different kind a way (MY TOP 10s are always fun, aren’t they?), so I’m going to be a little looser with it.  I’m going to go girl-boy-girl-boy as much as I can, so this time around the men will be on top.  I’ve  let the women lead more than a few times, so turnabout is fair play. 

9. N.W.H. (Niggaz With Hats) “F**k the Security Guards”

Warning! Explicit Lyrics.  Obviously.  I don’t like the use of the F-Word, but this is satire and what is being satirized is being reflected.  And, I felt like I needed to pick the song that was most representative of what they were satirizing.  Mainly, N.W.A, and their song “F**k tha Police.”  This is, arguably, the most in-your-face N.W.H. song in the film. 

That said, N.W.H. is the fictional rap group from the film, Fear of a Black Hat (a take on Public Enemy’s classic album, Fear of a Black Planet) that does the same thing for hip hop that This is Spinal Tap does for rock.  Exploring some of the same themes, it is  a humorous look at the aggressive, testosterone-filled genre.  Frankly, it needed to be deconstructed.

***BONUS*** CB4 “Straight Outta Locash”

CB4 was a similar film that came out before Fear of a Black Hat starring Chris Rock.  CB4 (Cell Block 4) is also the name of the N.W.A.-like group in this film.  This is song mimics N.W.A.’s “Straight Outta Compton.”

