So, this countdown is about MY TOP 10:  Fictional Bands and what songs best represent those bands.  I’m going to throw in about 5 BONUSES throughout this countdown as well.  It’s a fun one in a different kind a way (MY TOP 10s are always fun, aren’t they?), so I’m going to be a little looser with it.  I’m going to go girl-boy-girl-boy as much as I can, so this time around the men will be on top.  I’ve  let the women lead more than a few times, so turnabout is fair play. 

8. Josie and The Pussycats “Theme Song”

Who doesn’t know J0sie and The Pussycats?  The fictional band that started as an Archie comic in the 1960s has been through several incarnations including a cartoon series, a real life band version (to accompany the cartoon show),  and, more recently,  a feature film.   A couple of tidbits, Cheryl Ladd, who would go on to Charlie’s Angels fame, was Melody Valentine, in the band version that cut one album and six singles in 1970, and Rachael Leigh Cook, Tara Reid, and Rosaria Dawson played Josie McCoy, Melody Valentine, and Valerie Brown in the 2001 film, respectively.  Arguably, Josie and The Pussycats are the first Spice Girls or Pussycat Dolls, or at least 3 versions of Scary Spice.

**BONUS*** Josie and The Pussycats in Musical Evolution

This is kind of cool.  I found it on YouTube.  I think it’s from Cartoon Network.

***BONUS*** Josie and The Pussycats “Stop, Look and Listen”

I’m just BONUS-crazy this time around.  Figured I’d give you a “real” Pussycats song, too, and not just the theme.

 

