So, this countdown is about MY TOP 10:  Fictional Bands and what songs best represent those bands.  I’m going to throw in about 5 BONUSES throughout this countdown as well.  It’s a fun one in a different kind a way (MY TOP 10s are always fun, aren’t they?), so I’m going to be a little looser with it.  I’m going to go girl-boy-girl-boy as much as I can, so this time around the men will be on top.  I’ve  let the women lead more than a few times, so turnabout is fair play. 

6. The Dreams “One Night Only”

So, they’re The Dreams and not the Dreamgirls.  I guess a die-hard fan would know that, which, obviously, I am not.  And, later yet Deena Jones and The Dreams.  I would have placed them higher, but with the film that came out a few years ago, I think there’s been a little bit of Dreamgirls burnout.  We’re still feeling the effects of its success with Ms. Jennifer Hudson’s trailblazing career, though, who played Effie White in the 2006 feature film version (along with Ms. Beyonce Knowles as Deena Jones and Ms. Anika Noni Rose as Lorrell Maya Robinson).  Everyone knows its beginnings as a Broadway musical and that the story closely mirrors that of Diana Ross and The Supremes.  And, let us not forget Sheryl Lee Ralph, Jennifer Holliday, and Loretta Divine, who originated the Broadway roles.  Supremes gossip aside, it’s still fictional, so they qualify for this countdown.  And, The Dreams and The Dreamgirls projects have, definitely, earned their place in pop culture history alongside The Supremes.

***BONUS*** Effie White “One Night Only”

How could I give you one without the other?

***BONUS*** Effie White “And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going”

And, you know you had to get this one as a BONUS.

