So, this countdown is about MY TOP 10:  Fictional Bands and what songs best represent those bands.  I’m going to throw in about 5 BONUSES throughout this countdown as well.  It’s a fun one in a different kind a way (MY TOP 10s are always fun, aren’t they?), so I’m going to be a little looser with it.  I’m going to go girl-boy-girl-boy as much as I can, so this time around the men will be on top.  I’ve  let the women lead more than a few times, so turnabout is fair play. 

5. Spinal Tap “Hell Hole”

Okay, I’ll admit, I haven’t seen This is Spinal Tap, but I’m very aware of the mock-rockumentary and the band.  Their reputation precedes them. I know they’ve cultivated quite a cult following that includes real albums,  tours, and appearances beyond the initial documentary and music for that project including a new album, Back from the Dead, just released on June 16, 2009.  They had to be on this list.  Spinal Tap is Michael McKean (as David St. Hubbins), Christopher Guest (as Nigel Tufnel) and Harry Shearer (as Derek Smalls).  The recurring gag of drummers who die including two who just spontaneously combust is worth the price of admission alone.

***BONUS*** Spinal Tap “Bitch School”

JUNE 27, 2009 UPDATE:  On second thought, I’m giving so many BONUSES for the cartoon bands.  I figure mockumentary human bands deserve BONUSES, too.

***BONUS*** The Brady Bunch (aka The Brady Kids aka The Silver Platters) “It’s a Sunshine Day”

I know this is a strange one to pair with Spinal Tap, but I want to include as many videos in this countdown as I can.  I just don’t always get a chance to do such a whimisical countdown, so I wanted to really have fun with it.  And we all know about the Brady Bunch’s foray into music both on the show and on actual record.  I think they even toured.  And, “Hell Hole” and “It’s a Sunshine Day” on the same post — How hilarious is that?   Enjoy.

 

