So, this countdown is about MY TOP 10:  Fictional Bands and what songs best represent those bands.  I’m going to throw in about 5 BONUSES throughout this countdown as well.  It’s a fun one in a different kind a way (MY TOP 10s are always fun, aren’t they?), so I’m going to be a little looser with it.  I’m going to go girl-boy-girl-boy as much as I can, so this time around the men will be on top.  I’ve  let the women lead more than a few times, so turnabout is fair play.


3. The Monkees “I’m a Believer”


The Monkees were created as a television show and the band and the members took on a life of their own.  I remember watching this in syndication when I was a kid on Nick at Night.  Inspired by The Beatles’ A Hard Day’s Night, the producers created this show to feature a fictional rock-n-roll band. What they actually created were, The Monkees, an independent, autonomous band that grew beyond the TV show with records, tours, Beatles-connections and comparisons, and, most importantly, a genuine and real following and fanbase.  So successful were they that members even mounted successful reunion tours into the ’80s and ’90s.





***BONUS*** The Partridge Family “I Think I Love You”


Another fictional TV show band, that maybe didn’t have the success of The Monkees, but still had all kinds of crazy success.


