Univision’s 5th annual Premios Texas 2009 take place on Thursday, August 13, 2009, right here in the ATX.  In celebration and anticipation of the event popolio is hosting a ticket giveaway (read more about the show and the popolio giveaway here) as well as featuring nominated and/or performing Premios Texas Artist pop quizzes as a weekly countdown to the event EVERY WEDNESDAY starting today.

First up are the accomplished and respected local homeboy band, VALLEJO.  Not only are they the official opening act for the show, they are also nominated for Best Austin Band.  You can vote for them here.  Though un-PC, I’d like to offer the VALLEJO frontman a cigar for his answer to Number 14.  Congratulations to you and yours.

Week 2 Bobby Pulido pop quiz
Week 3 Los Bad Apples pop quiz
Week 4 Makano pop quiz

VallejoJuly 22, 2009

Name:  VALLEJO  
Genre:  Latin/Rock 
Latest Release:  Thicker Than Water (VMG/Quadra Entertainment Group)
Release Date:  March 8, 2008

This, That, or the Other

1. Underground OR Mainstream? Somewhere in between
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)?? Everything
3. Studio or Stage? Both
4. Spirituality or Hedonism? Family-ism
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Try to make a difference somehow

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my life.
7. I’m musically inspired by real life.
8. My favorite old school joint is “Suavecito” by Malo.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Superman.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Sex, Love, and Music

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  It’s a blessing and also releases a lot of the everyday things we all go through.  It’s a beautiful thing for everyone involved.
12. I want my fans to:  Leave our shows sweating.
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:  Due to contrary belief, I’m not gay.
14. Wild Card!  I’m having a baby girl (Sophia Apollonia) in September.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  Someone who contributed to the world with his music and helped young people continue to achieve greatness.

V_TTWListen to “Sweet Maria” from VALLEJO’s latest release, Thicker Than Water.  Go to their MySpace Page for more.

VALLEJO’s favorite old school joint!

