Univision’s 5th annual Premios Texas 2009 take place TOMORROW, Thursday, August 13, 2009, right here in the ATX.  In celebration and anticipation of the event popolio hosted a ticket giveaway (I’ll announce the 2 winners later tonight!) and has been featuring nominated and/or performing Premios Texas Artist pop quizzes as a part of a weekly countdown ever Wednesday.  This will be the last one.  I had promised 5, but, unfortunately, things didn’t go as planned, so this is it.  Hope you enjoyed the last 3 and will like this one, too.

Speaking of, last up  is Panamanian reggaetonero, Makano. I really wanted to have Makano on because I’m Panamanian-American.  Represent!  Represent!  Of course.  Though I intended a fifth pop quiz, it’s kind of nice to end with his.  He’s been making some noise with another Reggae-Pana, Flex, and, more recently, has been blowing up on his own.  He’s nominated for Best Hip-Hop/Urban Artist and Breakthrough Artist of the Year.  I believe you can still vote for him here.  He’s performing at a pre-concert tonight and should be doing his thing tomorrow, too. Without any further ado, here it is.

Week 1 VALLEJO pop quiz
Week 2 Bobby Pulido pop quiz
Week 3 Los Bad Apples pop quiz

Editor’s Note:  This pop quiz is translated from the Spanish.

makanoAugust 12, 2009

Name:  Makano
Genre:  Romantic Reggae 
Debut Release:  Te Amo (Panama Music Corp.)
Release Date:  November 18, 2008
  
 This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? No Answer
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (or both)?? Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision
3. Studio or Stage? Studio
4. Spirituality or Hedonism? Spirituality
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Make Love

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my life and my passion.
7. I’m musically inspired by my day-to-day living.
8. My favorite old school joint is “Experencia Religiosa” by Enrique Iglesias.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Superman.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Love, Sports, and Reggae.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I like it and it spiritually fulfills me.
12. I want my fans to:  Continue to give me their support. 
13. If I could share one thing about myself it would be:  I will continue making my music.
14. Wild Card!  Give respect to receive respect.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  To inspire other talented young people to believe in their dreams.

m_taListen to “Déjame Entrar” from Makano’s debut release, Te Amo.  Go to his MySpace Page for more.

Makano’s favorite old school joint!

