So, it’s been a year since I started popolio.com and kicked it of with my first MY TOP 10 Countdown in September 2008.  Since popolio.com was jumping off, I kicked it off with MY TOP 10: 90s/00s Pop/R&B Diva Music Video Jump-Offs.  Well, this is the twelfth month, so I thought it would create nice symmetry if I presented the men as a bookend to that very first countdown before Year 2 officially begins.  This time around the Div-Os, or Divos, will get the spotlight.

And without further ado, Number 1.

1. Tupac “Brenda’s Got a Baby”
Tupac was poetic and could be romantic as well as derogatory and offensive.  It was when he tapped into his political and equally rebellious and enlightening spirit that he was most potent.  He was an orator that was at the same time detached observor and emoting experiencer or participant. “Brenda’s Got a Baby” is a brutal look at too harsh a reality.  It was his debut single from his debut album, 2Pacalypse Now. It would have been interesting to see what he would have grown into if he would have been allowed time and space to shed off the anger and stubbornness.  I think we would have had a  social-political hip hop leader who would have been the first of his kind.  The BONUS is from his sophomore album, Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z.  I always liked the gender twist in this video.

***BONUS*** Tupac “Holler If Ya Hear Me”

